Upside Down

This post has taken me three months to write, and I’m hoping it is cathartic for me. There is so much on my heart and in my soul.

I’m a huge believer that life can change in the shortest instant. 

For example: In 2010, I came home from an amazing vacation on a Sunday, got a routine CAT Scan done on Monday, and on Tuesday, I was told by my doctor of 10+ years that I had a tumor on my liver and needed a transplant. Approximately 3 months later, my life was forever changed. For better and for worse.

One July night in 2013, I met Scott. By the end of the evening, we both knew we were soulmates. We kept our thoughts to ourselves for months (even a year?), but inside we both knew.  By midnight that evening, I was just sure God had created him just to be my other half and for both of us to travel through life together.

Then came December 31, 2015. I am not privy to share all of the details, but a distracted driver ran a red light, totaled my car, and in a way, he totaled my body as well. Police officers and firefighters told my family that it was a miracle I ended up alive after what happened merely in a matter of seconds. On that day, I had no idea what was to come. As time progressed, we learned I had obtained several severe health problems. The past few months have been horribly hard, painful, and full of discoveries of new issues. I’ve missed out on so many activities, hobbies, you name it. I’ve been frustrated pretty constantly and home bound for weeks at a time. I’ve experienced the greatest pain of my life – far greater than the pain after a liver transplant which I thought could never be beat.

I’m so thankful for my husband and my mother who have constantly changed their plans to selflessly help me with all of my needs. So many people have sent cards, food, gift baskets, and graciously shared their time to visit, drive me to appointments, and give me grace where I’ve fallen short.

Currently our lives have been turned upside down, and none of this has been easy to say the least, but my family and I thank you for all of the love you’ve shared and the prayers you’ve sent up for me. You’ve given us (especially me) so much encouragement for this rough journey and whatever lies ahead.

6 thoughts on “Upside Down

  1. From a fellow transplant blogger, I just want to say that I see you. I hear you. And I’m thinking of you, so much. I’m not going through what you are going through right now, but I understand you and I feel for you. Wishing you all the best, and so much more, in the coming days, weeks, and beyond.

  2. Hi. I was diagnosed in 2010 with a liver disease without even feeling ill. Had a transplant in 2015 and thanking God every day.

Leave a Reply

