Grateful

Screen Shot 2014-09-01 at 5.47.52 PM

I am so deeply grateful to be celebrating my fourth “transplantaversary” today. Yesterday marks the day I entered surgery to receive a new liver, and today marks the day that I awoke for the first time with new life within me.

Without my gift of life, I wouldn’t have received the opportunity to love again, complete my education, visit new countries across the world, become a godmother, meet new friends, touch more lives, or savor every ordinary day.

The journey has – at times – been treacherous and almost too much to bear. There has been fear and pain. But today, I live a beautiful, charmed life that has only been possible due to the generous gift of my organ donor and his family and the support of my family, friend, and even strangers around the world.  There aren’t enough words to express my gratitude.

Please consider signing up to be an organ donor, if you’re not already. It’s a pretty simple, yet empowering thing.  Just go to this website and sign up. Next time you renew your license, make sure that they put the tiny heart symbol on it, signifying your wishes. And most importantly, tell your family so they can authorize it when you’re not longer able to do so yourself.  120,000 people are waiting for what a lot of us take for granted.  18 of them die each day because there aren’t enough organ donors.  By signing up to be a donor, you can save up to 8 lives and heal up to 50.  Once you die, you won’t need any of your organs anymore, so why not share them with someone less fortunate than you? Think about it…  Feel free to contact me with any questions you may have.

With love and gratitude,

Amanda

Screen Shot 2014-09-01 at 5.48.08 PM

2 thoughts on “Grateful

Leave a Reply

