A gift

Stacy Kramer, and TED, thank you so much for this.

I wouldn’t change my experience.  It profoundly altered my life in ways I didn’t expect… So the next time you’re faced with something that is unexpected, unwanted, and uncertain, consider, it just may be a gift.

Stacy Kramer, brain tumor survivor, so eloquently told the story I’ve relayed to countless individuals.  I think a lot of us who endure life-threatening illness come out to see what a gift it was.  As I’m sure it was for her too, many of my nights were sleepless; there was a lot of pain. I wondered a million times Why me? How can I get out of this? Please, can someone make this stop?!  But standing on the other side of the whole ordeal, as I am now, it’s so much easier to see how the longest days would make me a better person in all the ways I needed, introduce me to hundreds of people I could learn from or impact, and teach me that there is more to life than anyone ever had thought.

So grateful for my gift.  I wouldn’t wish it upon you (you wouldn’t be able to see it was a gift until it was all over anyways), but I’m thankful to God that he brought my scariest, darkest, most painful experiences into something I’m now so grateful for.  May His light keep shining through the darkness.

One thought on “A gift

  1. A hemangioblastoma is a benign and very treatable condition that is removed either via surgery or a single dose of radiation therapy. It seems like this young lady was scared for no reason (ie brain and tumor sure sound scary) but it is not a dangerous or even life threatening condition.

    This doesn’t lessen or diminish her story but it is important to have the right frame – she didn’t for example have brain cancer which can be devastating and no one who undergoes treatment for a brain cancer would describe it as an 8 week vacation

Leave a Reply

