Gifts, grace & gratitude

When someone dies so you can live, it has a profound impact.

Look at our faith.

God gave His Son to die so that we are forgiven – John 3.16, one of the most popular Scriptures of all time. Yet do we really understand the simplicity and complexity of it? We love Him because He first loved us; it almost seems hard not to. We may feel forever indebted to Him, yet we could never repay the gift. So we try our best to live up to what has been given to us, the blessing and securities of life here on earth, and more importantly, the eternal life we have to come. All because we did nothing, and He gave everything.

After I received my liver August 31, 2010, something similar happened. While this temporal life isn’t nearly as important as the gift of the eternal life and the heaven our Lord has in store for us, I believe it is the next highest gift one could ever receive. Yes, God numbers our breaths, but the gift of life is God’s way of extending them. And what a donor family chose to do for a stranger – someone possibly not even worthy of such a gift – is so selfless. My donor family lost their son and chose to help others through their tragedy. Not much is more beautiful than this. Again, I did nothing and received everything. Perhaps I wasn’t even worthy. What makes one worthy of a second chance at life, anyways? And how to we repay such a gift? Again, I don’t think we ever could.

How undeserving we are of the gifts the Lord gives us, yet how much more grateful are we to realize this?

This is the beauty of grace.

Will you join me on August 3rd in my annual Lifebanc Gift of Life walk/run team honoring our donors, our recipients, and the families that chose to give life? My three-year transplant anniversary is August 31, and this is a milestone. I’ve gone through so much, but I’m doing so well. I savor each day, each new experience, hoping my donor is looking down and smiling. I received one of the most tragically beautiful, profound gifts, and my miracle is my existence. I’m so grateful, and I’m asking you to celebrate with me. Three years… I’m speechless, in awe of sacrifice and providence.

2012 Lifebanc Gift of Life Walk & Run

I humbly invite you to consider supporting my team this year. We have a lot of fun, and the event is so beautiful. You can sign up or make a donation <<right here>>. We are grateful for each and every one of you. You are our friends, our family, and precious strangers who care. You all are my gifts, and I could not have made it this far without you.

Full of love and gratitude,
Amanda

Leave a Reply

