Seeing God’s back

Author Ann Voskamp’s blog and book One Thousand Gifts (New York Times Bestseller) has often been a hope to me on long days and an ever-present reminder on all of the rest.  She challenge readers to be grateful for every moment with “a dare to live fully right where you are.”

No matter how dark that place is.

I was reading one mother’s account of losing her daughter at 18 weeks gestation.  Her thought-rendering words express such emotion, such grief, and in her blog entry, A Star Hung on My Soul Sky, she shares a comment Ann posted on her blog.  Once again, Ann’s words move me exactly where I am in my life right now, exactly as I am in this moment.  I pray they will move you as well – wherever you are, however you are, even if you are glancing up right at God’s back, crying to see His face.  God’s in the tremors.  Read…

In time, years, dust settles.

In memory, ages, God emerges.

Then when we look back, we see God’s back.

Wasn’t that too His way with Moses? “When my glory passes by, I will put you in a cleft in the rock and cover you with my hand until I have passed by. Then I will remove my hand and you will see my back” (Ex. 33:22).

Is that it? When it gets dark, it’s only because God has tucked me in a cleft of the rock and covered me, protected, with His hand? In the pitch, I feel like I’m falling, sense the bridge giving way, God long absent. In dark, bridge and my world shakes, cracking dreams.

But maybe this is reality:  It’s in the dark that God’s passing by. The bridge and our lives shake not because God’s abandoned, but the exact opposite: God’s passing by. God’s in the tremors.

Dark is the holiest ground, the glory passing by.

In the blackest, God’s closest, at work, forging His perfect and right will. Though it is black and we can’t see and our world seems to be free-falling in and we feel utterly alone, Christ is most present to us, eye beam supporting in earthquake. Then He will remove His hand.  Then we will look.

Then we look back and see His back.

He is close […] even in the blackest grief…
A gift in the grief… The Glory of God passing by in the dark.

I love you … and so pray.

[…] Love, the star that never falls…

One thought on “Seeing God’s back

  1. Pingback: God’s in the tremors | Amanda's Journey

Leave a Reply

