Always hope

Today, I’m low on words.

Two years ago tonight, I received a new liver, and my life was forever changed. I am so thankful for my donor and these 730 days of new life.

Each day is a joy and a challenge, a battle and a dance, yet full of grace to last until the next.

Always hope, loves.  Always.  Each day is beautiful; each day is a brighter day.

Amanda

You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, ‘I have lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.’ You must do the thing you think you cannot do.

Eleanor Roosevelt

One thought on “Always hope

  1. Happy birthday young lady. Feels good to be alive. I celebrated my second birthday a few days before yours. My neurologist wanted me to get nutrition therapy to help control my blood sugar levels. She thought this would help control my neuropathy. It would eliminate one factor that can make it worse since diabetics can get neuropathy and I’m in the pre diabetic stage. So August 13th I met with Kylene Guerra in the Crile building. She gave me some very detailed information, ideas and instructions on how to best control my blood sugar. It was based on keeping my carb levels at less than 50g per meal. It meant I had to eat more often and eat less at each meal. Cutting down on carbs meant cutting out a lot of food I like to eat and things I like to drink.
    I’m not sure how much it has helped with the neuropathy but it is definitely not worsening. It also had some other great benefits. I lost all my belly fat. About 7-8lbs total while becoming stronger. It also helped with my fatigue level. It prevented the huge ups and downs I felt especially when my EBV levels went up. I did not feel as tired as before. I was still tired but not as bad. I can still function quite well and all of this is due to a diet meant to help with my neuropathy. How about that. Man I love looking in the mirror and seeing a flat stomach with no handles. Looks nice. I wish the transplant folks would have pointed me this way a long time ago. Cannot wait to show it off to Dr. Kelly and my coordinator Rich.

Leave a Reply

