Endoscopy Results & Scripture

The endoscopy went really well.  It was 2 weeks ago today, and even with my choking episodes, my doctor found nothing.  Absolutely nothing.  There is obvious evidence of where the varices were before my transplant cured my portal hypertension (see the previous post) but no more varices, no issues, nothing. I do have a hiatal hernia that was diagnosed a few years ago, so I’m blaming that.  We have no other idea what could be causing my episodes other than anxiety.  (My doctor’s opinion, not really my own.  I’m not having panic attacks before I have my choking attacks. Random.)

In fact, look how good my esophagus looks:

I got over the anesthesia very quickly and was back to normal life within a day or two.  Now I’m just dealing with anxiety, headaches, and the pulled muscle in my abdomen.  It’s not healing well, but I will see my surgeon tomorrow and see what he wants to do about it.  Dilaudid and muscle relaxers are not the answer, even though my primary care doctor does mean well. 🙂

Please pray for strength and grace as I have five appointments at the Clinic tomorrow, including my oncologist and surgeon.  We’re also getting an ultrasound to make sure my stent is holding well.

I’m very thankful because God has sent a wonderful mentor into my life who has experienced cancer, a near-death illness, and a terrible broken relationship.  We have so much in common, it’s unbelievable, and she’s been such an encouragement to me just in the past week we’ve been talking with each other.  And small world, I went to school with her daughter for 10 years and she also taught my middle school science class.  God is so good in the way He provides.  Yesterday she shared Isaiah 62 which states:

You will be a crown of splendor in the Lord’s hand, a royal diadem in the hand of your God.  No longer will they call you Deserted, or name your land Desolate… for the Lord will take delight in you… As a young man marries a young woman, so will your Builder marry you; as a bridegroom rejoices over his bride, so will your God rejoice over you.

God never, ever wastes our suffering.

Thank you for your prayers for tomorrow,
Amanda 

Leave a Reply

