Tonight, tomorrow & the future

Tonight, no sleep will come.

Tomorrow is my one-year transplant anniversary, or transplantversary, and so much heaviness surrounds me.  I cannot keep discerning the good memories from the bad, the blessings from the trials.  It’s all a blur in my head right now, and I cannot find rest.

Tomorrow is also a long day for me at the Clinic.  After the battle of waking up at 5, I have a very important ultrasound and CT scan.  It’s time for my second “tumor marker” labs to make sure the tumor that grew on my old liver hasn’t reappeared on my new liver – or anywhere else, for that matter.  Additionally, as I said in a previous update, my surgeon discovered a major blood vessel connecting to my liver is narrowing.  It could be a temporary thing, or it could be a more permanent danger.  The problem is that while the vessel is narrowing, or constricting, blood cannot access and/or leave the liver without extreme pressure and an increase in liver enzymes.  If the scans show the narrowing is still there, or worse, I will need surgery to open the vein.  

Needless to say, I am done with all this.  I do not want a tumor and I do not want a constricted vessel that needs to be opened.  However, this past year, I’ve really learned how our needs are vastly different than our wants.  

The LORD is my light and my salvation; [what] shall I fear? the LORD is the strength of my life; of [what] shall I be afraid?

Psalm 27.1

…Reflecting on the past, praying for the future, knowing the Hand that brought me through the past 365 days will get me through the next.

Check back tomorrow for whatever I can think of to say on my official Transplantversary.  😉

Leave a Reply

