Another Update

Once again, I’m a little late on an update!

I’m all healed from my massive splenectomy!  My 40 staples are out, my incision is healed, and other than fatigue and sore (cut) abdominal muscles, I think I’m doing pretty well!  This surgery was a lot easier than my transplant, no question.  Homecare is gone, I’m done laying on the couch all day, every day 🙂 and I’m eagerly awaiting the day when I can drive again (mid-September).  

My labs have fabulously improved, and with the platelets and WBCs under control, we’re now working on the red cells.  I’m anemic, and my oncologist is trying iron supplements for a couple months before we look at any other measures.

As far as my surgeon, during the surgery, he discovered a narrowing in one of my main portal (liver) veins.  The narrowing causes decreased flow into my liver which could increase my liver enzymes (bad).  So tomorrow I’ll be at the Clinic for an ultrasound and CT scan to get a better look at that.  And a visit to infectious disease to see why my pneumonia shot isn’t “sticking.” 

That’s really it.  Hoping to start “normal life” next week (minus the driving 😦 

Happy weeks to all of you!

Amanda

Leave a Reply

