Recovery

Okay, I realize this is a little late, and I apologize.

I had my splenectomy Friday, was discharged from the hospital Wednesday, and today is now Friday again, and this is the first post-surgery update I’m sending.  I wasn’t that “plugged in” in the hospital.  I pretty much slept, had tests, and laid there for all those days.  I begged to come home early, and it was a success.  I’m so grateful for the early trip home!

So the surgery… it was a success.  My surgeons were shocked that the spleen inside me was larger than a football, when “normal” is the size of a fist.  We knew it was enlarged, but that big was just unbelievable.  It was so big that they just reopened my transplant scar.  They cut through all of it but a couple inches, therefore not leaving any bit of a new scar.  That was good news to me.  The bad news is how big the incision had to be – I have 40 staples for this, and I had 50 for my transplant.

As soon as the spleen left my body, my labs started increasing.  The white cells flew through the normal limit, and my platelets are actually in normal range.  I’ve never had normal labs since I was at least 5, and this spleen has been an issue since then.  My labs just started  getting worse during the past several months, thus prompting the surgery, a last resort, the last thread of hope.  My surgeon says my labs will stabilize soon.  He’s also having me start taking a tiny aspirin each morning in hopes to get my now high WBCs and few other labs stabilized.

Not sure how life will improve for me since I’m still weak/tired (from surgery, inactivity last week, and now pain pills) and am having huge incisional pain but let’s give it a couple weeks… I hope to feel so great, better than I’ve ever felt before!

Thank you so much for all the prayers, calls, cards, emails, gifts, you name it.  I am so grateful for your love.

Don’t forget the Lifebanc Walk & Run is tomorrow.  Please come if you can! It’s too late to pre-register but you can register at the door 7:30-8:30 tomorrow morning at Blossom.  Details on my site here.  I’m too weak to walk, but I will be there to thank my sweet team members.  Hope to see you there!

xoxo
Amanda 

Leave a Reply

