A road trip, visitors & a splenectomy

It’s 10pm Wednesday night.

I’m sitting in a wheelchair in the backseat of an ambulance being driven by an attractive EMT.  We’re driving on the highway, under the stars, talking about life, love, roadblocks, choices and pain.

He controls my temperature and the car stereo system while he speaks words far more valuable than the gas in his tank or equipment in his trunk.

I’m excited yet petrified to be going to the Clinic.

Excited because it’s my favorite hospital, excited because my doctors are here, and excited because there’s a chance I will be on the transplant unit, able to see some special familiar faces.

Petrified because this is my last chance for answers on my low WBC and platelets. Scared because the next couple days are critical to the rest of my life.

I’m finding out – once and for all – if I need a splenectomy or not, if I want to deal with the side effects or even what those side effects may even be.

Forget the pneumonia hanging out in my chest… My problems now are much more important than that. Or maybe not – what if the worst – or praise the Lord, best! – is yet to be seen?

Either way,

Psalm 23.2-3
He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.  He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Amen.

And thank you for all of the sweet friends who came to see me pretty much all day today.  You are all so precious to me.  Thanks for all the words of prayer and thoughts of kindness coming at me from so many places.

Love love love
Amanda

Leave a Reply

