I’m leaving!

Last weekend, I was in Disney World.  It was my first real “trip” since my surgery, and it actually went really well.  Thanks to my (still!) critically low WBC level, I wasn’t feeling 100% but I was really surprised how much I was able to do anyways.  We had a great time getting away, spending time at one of our favorite places in the world.  It was nice to forget about a lot of the everyday problems we deal with, and for me, it was so great to get away from the insurance, phone calls, home nurse, appointments, etc.

Sunday – in less than 48 hours – I will board a plane to Ireland for 2 weeks’ study of nursing and healthcare.  This is the trip I mentioned I have been dreaming of for years, and after a lot of back and forth between my doctors, I have been cleared to go!  I am a little scared to see how I do – again, especially with the WBC situation right now – but I have high hopes and am really looking forward to it.  I work with the disability office at school, and they were able to meet with my instructor and I to discuss possible options should anything go wrong.  As I said, I’m feeling really good about it.

Nothing “new” health-wise is going on, just waiting to handle the WBC issue when I get back.  I have a bone marrow biopsy in store for me, yuck.  But, bottom line, we need answers so badly about this.

So I’m leaving for a couple weeks and will update you when I return.  My Ireland blog, if you’d like to follow it, is here Please stop by and say hello!

Love,
Amanda

Leave a Reply

