Rejection Threat #2 (Again)

Dear friends,

I just got yesterday’s labs back and it’s not good.

My AST and ALT, liver enzymes indicative of function or damage, went from 35 and 25, respectively, to 261 and 281.

I don’t think you need to be a health professional to know that’s not good.

My surgeon told me to take a large dose of my antirejection med, Prograf, and to raise the twice-a-day dose for now.  I hate that medication, so I’m not thrilled.  But I’m not thrilled about a threat of rejection, either.

At Christmastime, if you remember, I had another big rejection scare.  It ended up being a virus.  Well this time, they’ve been testing my labs very well for viruses, and it’s not a virus.  There could only be one thing left.

I’m in the middle of my new life.  I’m also in the middle of my college semester – finally back, going strong.  This cannot be happening.  This can have very bad implications, people.

Please join me in praying this miraculously clears up.  I’m getting new labs drawn tomorrow, and we’ll see what happens from there.  If they’re not better, I’m getting another biopsy which will have me down a few days.  The results of that could mean all kinds of things, none of which can be good.

My friend sent me an email with these Scriptures the other day.  One of the verses in Psalm 46, is one of my favorite passages in the whole Bible.

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.  Therefore we will not fear, though the earth should change and though the mountains slip into the heart of the sea; though its waters roar and foam, though the mountains quake at it swelling pride.  Selah.  There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy place where the Most High dwells.  God is within her, she will not fall; God will help her at break of day… The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our Stronghold. Selah.

Psalm 46.1-5,7

Do not fear, for I am with you; do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, surely I will uphold  you with My righteous hand.  

Isaiah 41.10

May we find the strength to cling to these promises today.

Amanda

Leave a Reply

