3 Month Update & A Prayer Request

Hi everyone,

Just a little update and a prayer request below.

I’m doing so great.  It’s been 3 months since my surgery, and I can’t help but reflect on where I’ve been.  Thinking back on my life with liver disease, waiting for the transplant, the surgery, the pain and horror, the blessings and overcoming… I’m still taking it all in.  Every time I see the huge scar on my abdomen, I want to complain and wish it gone, but then I remember it’s a symbol of where I’ve been and the story I have to share with the world.  This story, this journey, is not just about the 12” of scar I have going in 3 directions – it’s entwined into every part of my being.

Yes, of course there have been setbacks, but I’m used to them.  Not too much phases me anymore.  I’m grateful for this new peace I have.  Whatever comes, comes.  I think I finally understand the resilience you see in people who face huge trials.  Once you’ve been through so much, you are accustomed to fighting, struggling, and don’t fear the future.  You’re so thankful for the calm times but aren’t worried about the storms. After all, if you’ve already been through the worst, how bad could the future be?

This week, one of the surgeons officially cleared me to resume nursing school in January, so barring any complications with the College of Nursing, I’m good to go.  I’m so excited to dive back into what I love so much, with more compassion than ever.  I have some fears like “What if I forgot it all?” “What if I haven’t recovered enough?” but my heart knows it’ll be just fine.

Wednesday is a big day for me.  It’s time for my 3-month-scan to make sure the tumor hasn’t returned.  If you remember, I was diagnosed with Primary sclerosing cholangitis (liver disease) at age 5, and I was transplanted because it turned into a tumor in May of this year.  Chemoembolization eradicated the tumor.  While the pathology reports on my old liver and lymph nodes showed there were no signs of cancer, as a precaution, I have to have scans and special labs done every 3 months for the next 5 years just to make sure it hasn’t come back.  From what I understand, it’s just a contrast MRI (which I’m used to) as well as testing for “tumor markers” in my blood.  I really don’t know that much about it, but of course, I’m eager to learn.  I’m honestly a little scared about it simply because I don’t want to go through all of this again.  Please join me in praying the tumor is gone for good and that I continue to recover quickly.

I love you all, and please remember to take time to be grateful for life during this busy, stressful season.

Amanda

Leave a Reply

