You all are so good to me!

Hi everyone,

Just wanted to check in and say, yes, I’m alive!  I haven’t posted in a few days because things have been getting pretty crazy over here while I’m starting to feel better and have my driving privileges back!  🙂  (And what part of that would honestly shock you?)

Health-wise, my incision is SO close to being closed… just a few more days, I’m guessing.  I’m losing a ton of weight due to the meds and my body’s adjusting – I’m just not that hungry.  Ever.  I’m going to call the team about it this week.  I bought all new clothes, and now even they are getting to be too big.  I’m honestly a little worried since I’ve lost over 20 pounds compared to where I was before the surgery.  We’ll see…

I’ve also been working on getting my sleep adjusted.  I have to be on steroids for life since what I had before the transplant (PSC) is anti-immune, and steroids can prevent it from coming back.  If I would have had something not anti-immune, like hepatitis, for example, I wouldn’t have to be on steroids, but unfortunately PSC can definitely be anti-immune.  And a major side effect of the steroids, even though I’m at the lowest dose, is that it can keep you wide awake.  I take it in the morning, and I’m still wide awake at night, so we’re trying sleeping pills, “sleep hygiene” (eg, don’t do anything in bed but sleep – no TV watching!, don’t do anything intense before bed, drink warm milk, etc…) and lots of other fun stuff to combat that.

In much happier news, I wanted to thank a sweet new friend I made on etsy who made me this beautiful quilt and sent it to me all the way from Pennsylvania.  Check out her shop or order a custom quilt!  What a blessing from a sweet sister in Christ.  Thank you so much Courtney!  It’s perfect and so warm and cozy, too!  🙂

quilt1

quilt2

Then, my 1st grade teacher Mrs. H. sent me a goodie basket complete with homemade buckeyes, Hershey kisses, homemade apple butter, and all kinds of good stuff!  She has been so supportive since I started this journey, and she was one of the best teachers I’ve had in my whole educational life.  I’m so glad we’re still in touch!

applebutter

jan

Check back Monday because it’s a special date and I’ll have a post up.

And check out the homepage of TRIO (Transplant Recipients International Organization) – they used a photo from the Akron-Canton chapter of TRIO’s website (which I made!) and it’s of me and my TRIO friends at the LifeBanc walk/run last summer.  We’re now internationally famous, haha.

Have a great weekend!  It’s super chilly and cloudy here in Ohio.  Almost all the leaves have fallen, and I’m so excited to get my pink tree and Willow Tree nativity set up in just a few weeks!  Also, I start nannying again this week and am so excited to be with my kiddos again.

Don’t forget to check back Monday.

Love to you all,
Amanda

Leave a Reply

