Helpful “sick chick” links + an update

Since I have to take my BP, pulse, weight, and temp daily, I was excited to find some sites with pre-designed medical documents you can download.  Plus some are very nice and can help you record so much more!  I thought I’d share since some of you are also transplant patients, and 1 out of every 3 Americans has a chronic illness.  (I learned that in the Ashland University class that I was a guest panelist on, last week.)

First of all, I use Google Docs to keep track of all my vitals I take every day.  I have it set up so it averages them on the bottom row.  It takes too much time to log on, record each value, and log off, so I keep a couple of weeks’ worth of vitals in a tiny notebook and record a large amount at once.  It’s more productive that way.  If you’d like my document, let me know and I can try to figure out how to let you have your own blank copy.  🙂

I love My Med Schedule.  Their “claim to fame” is reminding you when your meds are due to be taken, but I like using it as a comprehensive list of my meds that I can print off every time I see one of my doctors.  (It makes a beautiful, easy-to-read, print out.)  If I get confused when filling my pill box weekly, I can also pull it up online or on my phone real quick and make sure I have the right amount of the right pill.

AmericanMedical-ID.com is where I’ve purchased a few things like Medical History cards, things to put in your wallet, etc.  You can also buy medic alert bracelets here, but I got mine somewhere else.  (Would you believe I bought the pink one?)  They have fabulous downloads including a medical history form, emergency information form, allergy listing, medication refills, headache diary, pain med taken, blood sugar levels, BP readings, seizure record, and insulin injections.  Something for everyone!  Oh, and you’ll get PDFs you can actually type in – no more sloppy handwriting to show your doctor!  🙂

Are you “healthy enough?”  Well anything can happen, and the American College of Emergency Physicians needs you to keep a copy of their documents at all times, should any emergency strike.  As a nanny, I must stress – if your children is in someone else’s care and something happens, you MUST fill out a consent to treat form, which gladly is on this site.  Without this prior authorization and imperative information, your child cannot be treated.

Not a fan of the overall site, but Blue Healer has some forms as well.  There’s a thorough prescription list, a to-do list, and a pain tracker… with more coming!  

One last plug – I got this as a gift after my transplant and it’s really helped my emotional healing.  It’s a book entitled My Recovery Journal that doesn’t look like much on the outside, or even inside, but the prompts are very fitting and therapeutic.  You can buy it from the publisher here.  I don’t write in it every day, but I try to often.  It asks me about the weather, what my friends are doing, how I feel, what I’m looking forward to, what I’m worried about, the best and hardest parts of the day, people who helped me to feel better, and plans for the next day.  They really are uplifting questions, and I recommend this to anyone with a chronic or longterm illness/disease.  It’s a perfect gift  🙂

I think that’s it, but I think they’re all really good resources you should check out.

Be well!

Amanda

PS – I got discharged from Home Care on Tuesday!  My top ripped-open-insision is 100% healed, and the bottom is getting closer!  Hooray!

Leave a Reply

