When His people pray…

As I told you the other day, my liver numbers were all over the place in last Thursday’s labs.  They were precautioning rejection, going over what might happen, treatment options, etc.  Needless to say, we were scared.  Acute rejection is 100% reversible especially as a healthy liver regenerates, and acute rejection is of no fault of the patient, but still.  It’s not something you want to hear or deal with, especially right out of the gate. 

THANK you for all who lifted me up in prayer last weekend.  We had big faith, and I got a phone call from my coordinator Molly after she got Monday’s labs.  “I’m not sure what to tell you, Amanda, but the numbers have all come down.”  She started listing liver enzymes, telling me what they were, what they are now, and where the normal limits were.  We’re not talking about them going down a few points – a few went down by 50s and 100s, all headed back to normal.  Knowing full well what the answer was, I asked, “So is this normal, for the numbers just to go back to normal all of a sudden after diving so low?  What caused this?”  Now I love Molly, but this seemed to stump her.  “No, not really.  I really don’t know how this happened.  Maybe things just straightened out on their own.  But at this point, we’re not going to worry about anything.”  I knew better – Prayer changed those numbers.

At this point, I really don’t think anything is too big for God because He has continued to take care of me, and this road has not been without bumps and obstacles and sharp turns.  I hope you, too, can see His hand working and believe in His love and grace.  He cares for His children.

Liver clinic tomorrow… then an appointment with infectious disease to go over vaccinations/childcare and learn anything special I’ll need to be careful about when I return to nannying.  Plus we have to clear something else with them, and my future little girl’s parents will be traveling to Africa, so we need to make sure none of the vaccinations or medications will impact me since I’m immunocompromised.  The most exciting part of tomorrow will be getting the rest of my staples out.  They are tugging and pulling nonstop, and that’s even after Peter took half of them out last week.  I think once they’re all out, the incision will start healing better on it’s own.  They’re also removing the drain sutures they put back in, so let’s pray one of them doesn’t start to leak again and end up with me in the ER like last week!  And best of all, with the sutures gone, less pain, I’m hoping I’m up to more visitors (had to cancel a couple this week so far) and – most exciting to me – I’m hoping to be up to seeing my kiddos.  The doctors said I could anytime, but I’d like my staples to be gone and be a little less in constant pain before my plethora of itty bitties – ages newborn through 8 year old – bring their vivacious energy to me.  Keep in mind I’ve been in pain on the sofa or in the hospital for a month.  The most action I’ve had is Grey’s Anatomy on DVD or someone stopping by with dinner or a short visit.  Gotta get my strength up for my kiddos.  🙂

Please help me pray tomorrow goes well and this pain goes away.  It’s mainly from the incision, and now intense back pain has appeared.  The doctors said it’s from the retractors they had to put in me during surgery – they put two in you.  One stretches your abdomen wide open and keeps it that way for 8 hours, and the other pulls up and out on your rib cage to give them even more room.  8 hours of pulling up and out on your rib cage doesn’t sound pleasant, and I’m realizing it doesn’t feel so great either.  One of my friends whom I met on Twitter (we have so much in common  – she’s my age, a nurse, and just had a transplant last November) has mentioned a few times her terrible back pain.  I guess it’s common, but when you think about that retractor, those things are rough.  I’m curious to see how my car wreck back pain merges with the transplant back pain once my stomach is back to normal and I’m trying to lead a normal life.  Let’s start praying about that one because I can’t imagine having worse back pain than I did before surgery!  🙂

I want to spend another minute thanking all of you – the cards are still pouring in.  I started putting them all in a gift bag, but it’s almost so over-packed I could probably only get a couple more in.  (Time for a box! lol) And not just the cards – I’ve gotten so many gift cards, flowers, planters, balloons, stuffed animals – even a sock monkey! – clothes (from my sitting mamas – they know abdominal surgery = swelling = maternity clothes! ha!), meals, Vera Bradley goodies, cash, postcards, even a puzzle (perfect for recuperating at home!) Then the emails, comments, those of you who have put my address on your church’s prayer/card list… it’s just been unbelievable the love and support I’m getting every single day.  I couldn’t ever do enough to thank you for everything each one of you has done for me, but I pray for God to bless you as you’ve blessed me, and sometime down the line when I have the opportunity to be a blessing to you, you better believe I will be there.  As I often say, we’re all in this together.

Love to you all – my friends – new and old, my sweet family, everyone who has merely thought about me during the past 4 months all the way to those who visit and check on me and make sure no need is wanting.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.
Amanda

Leave a Reply

