Liver Transplant Update 2

Looks like nothing’s happening until 4 or 5pm. The transplant team flew to the Cincinnati area to procure my liver. The donor, a teenage male, was in an “unspecified accident” and passed away. Apparently, his organs are going all over the country, and his liver is coming here to CCF to me and an infant. The infant will get 1/4-1/3 of the liver, and the rest should be a perfect size for me! (Livers can regenerate themselves.) They’re 95% sure it will be a great match, so we’re praying it really is the liver I’m meant to have!

I have so much peace that I’m actually surprised. I’m tired from the 1.30a phone call and run to the Clinic, and I’m anxious to get this over with, but I am so close to a new life… Being healthy is on the horizon! The staff here is great, and the surgeons are world-renowned. God himself holds my life in his hands. I have a huge support system and a whole future full of possibilities! We are blessed.

As I said, it’s a good day.

Until 4/5ish…

Amanda

Leave a Reply

