Fearless

 When Melissa, the mom of the two angels I nanny, invited me to join her Bible study, I was a little apprehensive at first.  She told me it’d be her first time leading a study, and I told her it would be my first time attending a study.  Then I found out the title. Fearless. That was it. Immediately, I thought of the nights I spent crying myself to sleep, the questions I’m embarrassed to even ask God, the things I endure with the strength of an infant.  I thought of everything that scared me, or rather anything that didn’t, and God spoke to my heart.  ”Perfect love casts out all fear,” I heard.  In my mind, I saw Jesus stand in front of the waves and barely whisper, “Peace. Be still,” before a silence came across the tide. That is what I need, I thought to myself.  I need to be fearless. As Christians, it is our right to be fearless. I immediately told Melissa I’d join her and a group of other Christian women to dissect this book and vulnerably go on a journey to this fearlessness. Perhaps you’re not afraid of a liver transplant, a few weeks in the hospital, organ rejection, and a fiance who isn’t a fiance anymore.  But that’s okay.  We’re all afraid of something, and to God, our fears are equally as painful as anyone else’s.  He wants to take them from us.  He asked us to cast our cares upon Him. I doubt this will be the last you’ll hear about this book… I’m barely into it, and it’s already changing my life.

What if faith, not fear, was your default reaction to threats? It’s not the absence of storms that sets us apart.  It’s whom we discover in the storm: an unstirred Christ. When fear shapes our lives, safety becomes our god. Fear of insignificance creates the result it dreads, arrives at the destination it tries to avoid, facilitates the scenario it disdains.  If a basketball player stands at the foul line repeating, ‘I’ll never make the shot, I’ll never make the shot,’ guess what? He’ll never make the shot. Why does he [God] love you so much? The same reason the artist loves his paintings or the boat builder loves his builders.  You are his idea.  And God has only good ideas.  ’For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus’ Finding the beauty the years bury, the sparkle that time tries to take.  Seeing you and loving the you he sees.  ”There you are, there you are.’  He’s enough. Isn’t he? … Let others play the silly games. Not us.  We’ve found something better.

Leave a Reply

