Wishing on 217

Right now, as of this very second, the Cleveland Clinic has 216 patients waiting on a liver, according to UNOS.  This week, I found out I passed the CCF Hepatology/Transplant board, and Thursday, I learned the Ohio Solid Organ Transplantation Consortium has approved my transplant as well.  Now we just need to hear confirmation from both my insurance companies.  If they can get their answers in by today, I will be Patient #217!  Now of course, patients are not taken in that order, but rather by their MELD scores.  My mysterious tumor somehow greatly increases my MELD, but that’s all I’ll know for now.  I just hope my listing goes through today.  Then the real waiting can begin.

Dear Heavenly Father,

We come to you in this peaceful, quiet night that is somehow laden with darkness.  Daily seeing my packed hospital bags, remembering prior procedures, seeing living wills, and hearing descriptions of my body in the early hours post-transplant frighten me.

Let your love take over.  You will be with me every step of the way, just as you have all of these years before now.  No matter what happens – whether you carry me through or carry me home – my hand is in Yours.

1 Corinthians 10.13: There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.

Praise God.

Love to you all.

Leave a Reply

